Skip to content

Obsessed with 50K: Some book statistics

November 17, 2010

As we have now crossed the invisible line of November 15th, and I am well ahead (wordcount-wise) with my NaNoWriMo project, I will take a small break from NaNoWriMo to blog about NaNoWriMo. – Or at least something related to it.

Because this whole obsession with reaching the magical number of 50,000 words in 30 days has got me thinking about wordcounts of published literary works. Are there any good novels of just 50,000 words? How long are the longest novels on the market? And is the fantasy of writing the first draft of a novel in one month completely out to lunch?
Here are a few links that will answer (or give you their answers) to the questions in case you are curious.

I am approaching the 50,000 mark and feel at this point confident that I will make it. If I will have reached the end of the story that I want to tell, or if I will have had to exclude a few scenes in order to finish it in November, I am not so certain. I am still hoping to have one complete first draft ready for revisions and editing by the end of the month.
Now, let me see if I can get a few hundreds of words in before I go to bed.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

