Skip to content

Author blogs and tweets

December 4, 2010

I just typed a title that would have made no sense to anyone just a decade ago. Today, however, practically everyone knows that a blog is an online journal and that tweet is what a bird says … Or what you write in 140 characters or less on Twitter.

There are quite a few writers I would have liked to see blogging or on Twitter, but unfortunately they aren’t contemporary.

Anyway, that aside … I’ve collected some links that you may like. I know I do, because they are journals and Twitter accounts of some of my favourite (contemporary … obviously) writers.

Perhaps some of your favourite authors blog too. Try having a look at The Best Author Blogs for 50 more links or so.
And if you would like to find writers on Twitter, here is Literary Tweets: 100+ of the Best Authors on Twitter.
I  was surprised (and pleased) to discover, that there is such a thing as Author Blog Awards. It has published as well as unpublished writers, it seems.

Do you have any favourite authors who blog? – Or can you actually find me the Twitter accounts of Charles Dickens and D.H. Lawrence?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2010 9:47 pm

    I’d love to read blogs by Charles Dickens and Jane Austen.

    But, perhaps, they would have been too busy handwriting classics to blog, twitter, and tweet. 🙂

    Like

    • December 5, 2010 10:39 am

      Thank you for the comment! 🙂 I would like to read those too. But not if it would cost them the classics. 😉

      Like

  2. Maggie permalink
    December 5, 2010 3:34 am

    Nice links – and lol at the Tolkien “quote”! 🙂

    Like

  3. December 5, 2010 3:59 am

    I followed Gaiman on Twitter when he was doing the 1B1T.

    I follow authors who are interesting as well as personally helpful. Usually it’s the beginning authors who meet these two criteria, in my experience. (Stephen King has his tweets protected. Phooey on him.)

    Still don’t get how following hundreds or thousands of people is helpful. Maybe it’s a math thing.
    I found the Dickens and Lawrence Twitter accounts. Also found God, Satan, Jesus, and Mohammed. 😉 Didn’t find yours, though.

    Thanks for posting the links, I will look into them. 🙂

    Like

    • December 5, 2010 10:45 am

      I only follow a few people, mostly authors.
      Oh, so the “protected” Stephen King is that Stephen King? I wasn’t sure when I found him.
      I found Oscar Wilde as well, but they all seem to be just quotations.
      I’m glad you enjoyed the links! 😀

      Like

      • December 6, 2010 1:21 am

        Re: Stephen King is THE Stephen King?- Magic 8 Ball says “Likely.” But who knows. Finally found your twitter. (I misspelled it the first time around.)

        Like

        • December 6, 2010 9:39 am

          Right. If he’s protected, it’s rather hard to figure out.
          Oh … I haven’t done much to advertise my account, because I really just use it for reading what a few writers (and a couple of actors) say. But thank you for adding me! I may start using the account properly at some point.

          Like

  4. December 5, 2010 6:36 pm

    Good post!
    I always find it enlightening to see what an author will allow of him- or herself to be released to the public… I speak of those who have made the big time, of course. There is something especially heartening when writers you admire allow themselves to appear human to the world at large.

    Like

    • December 5, 2010 7:02 pm

      Thank you very much!
      Yes, I feel the same way. I absolutely adore Neil Gaiman’s blog. He tends to be on lists of good author blogs, and I can see why. He is nicely chatty and shares photos and cute stories, but he also writes a lot about writing and events that he goes to related to that.

      Like

  5. December 8, 2010 6:42 am

    Thanks for stopping by http://www.michelledkeyes.wordpress.com and leaving comments about my posts. This post was really interesting – I wonder if Stephen King, Naomi Novik, or Sara Douglass use twitter? I found this by Sara Douglass:

    “I have finally succumbed to Facebook and have started up a fan page there. It will be the easiest way to contact me, and to catch up on news of forthcoming books etc etc etc. You can find me listed as Sara Douglass, Official Fan Page (the other Sara Douglass page is run by Tor and I can have no input there). Celebrate the 15th anniversary of BattleAxe by becoming a fan!”

    Hopefully it’s gaining some speed with writers! Great post – thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • December 8, 2010 11:10 am

      You’re welcome – and thank you for dropping by here!
      I found a Stephen King on Twitter, but his tweets are protected so that people can’t see them unless he follows them, so I have no idea if it’s the Stephen King. The others I haven’t seen unfortunately.
      The Facebook thing is interesting too. I considered including pages from there, but as I don’t actually use Facebook myself, I decided against it for now.
      Thanks again – I’m glad you liked the post!

      Like

  6. December 8, 2010 6:34 pm

    Thanks for the links!

    I wonder if Mr. Tolkien would’ve used Twitter at all – that 140 characters might have been too restrictive!

    Like

  7. December 13, 2010 6:21 am

    Most what i read online is trash and copy paste but i think you offer something different. Keep it like this.

    Like

    • December 17, 2010 9:51 pm

      I think there is a lot of nice things out there, but thank you very much! I appreciate the compliment.

      Like

  8. December 13, 2010 5:29 pm

    The most difficult thing is to find a blog with unique and fresh content but your posts are not alike. Bravo.

    Like

    • December 17, 2010 9:53 pm

      Well, the blogs that I have linked to in this post are certainly something, and I think that places like WordPress are teeming with great blogs. – But I am glad to know that you like mine. Thank you very much!

      Like

  9. December 13, 2010 7:21 pm

    Hey, i think you visited my website so i came to “return the favour”.I am trying to find things to improve my blog!Is it ok if i use some of the things i saw here?!

    Like

    • December 17, 2010 9:54 pm

      I did? Unfortunately your link doesn’t seem to be working.
      What would you like to use? You are welcome to quote something if that is what you mean, as long as you give credit where it’s due (and maybe link back here). 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

