Skip to content

The Christmas bandwagon

December 22, 2010

Nearly every blog I come across these days has at least one Christmas (or, if you will, holiday) related entry. I decided I should have one too.

It seems like we are going to have a white Christmas here this year. I predict problems with public transport and extreme beauty.

I recently acquired something very useful to anyone enjoying bibliophilia: New book shelves. Now I have room for all my books and even some empty space. Guess what’s on my wish list for Christmas. Yes, you are right. Books.

Since I mentioned a few of the books I’ve read in the past year in my previous entry, I thought I’d share with you a list of books that I would like to have on my shelves. Some of them I’ve already read, others I just really want to. They are in no particular order.

  • Anne Carson, Autobiography of Red
  • Jeanette Winterson, Tanglewreck
  • Nick Cave, The Death of Bunny Munro
  • Fyodor Dostoyevsky, Crime and Punishment
  • Tama Janowitz, Slaves of New York
  • Stephen Fry/Douglas Adams, The Salmon of Doubt
  • Markus Zusak, The Book Thief
  • Bret Easton Ellis, Less than Zero
  • Neil Gaiman, American Gods
  • Chuck Palahniuk, Tell-All
  • Jay Mc Inerney, Story of My Life
  • Margaret Atwood, Oryx and Crake
  • Stephen King, The Dark Tower series
  • Christopher Isherwood, A Meeting by the River
  • Douglas Coupland, Generation X

On another, but Christmassy, note: As you can see, my cat Reid has been helping me wrap presents for my friends. It’s his first Christmas, and he seems really excited about it.


Do you have an extensive wish list? Are there any writing related objects or books on it?

Happy holidays to all of you!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Maggie permalink
    December 22, 2010 11:25 pm

    The Book Thief was amazing… one of my favorite YA novels. And your kitty is adorable! 😀

    Like

    • December 23, 2010 12:14 am

      I have had it recommended by a a few people by now, so I am quite curious. It sounds like it’s worth a read!
      – And thank you very much! He shredded some of the ribbon all by himself, that crafty little thing …

      Like

  2. December 23, 2010 5:00 am

    Aww . . . kittie’s first Christmas! Great pics.

    Good luck filling your shelves with books to enjoy down the road.

    Like

    • December 23, 2010 11:30 am

      Thank you! He’s easier to capture when he isn’t all over the place, obviously, but I did my best.

      Like

  3. December 24, 2010 8:56 pm

    Cute! Happy Holidays!

    Like

  4. Karina Gyldenkaerne permalink
    December 27, 2010 12:55 pm

    Good list.
    I have read no 5 of those books and I stood holding Christopher Isherwood, A Meeting by the River at my local library just last week, but decided the timing wasn’t quite right.
    My short list right now:
    William Golding – Lord Of The Flies
    P.T.Barnum – The Life of P.T.Barnum
    Daniel P. Mannix – Freaks: We Who are Not as Others
    Doris Lessing – The Marriages Between Zones 3, 4 and 5
    Clive Barker – Sacrament
    Dan Simmons – The Terror
    Christine Wiltz – The Last Madam: A Life in the New Orleans Underworld

    Like

    • Karina Gyldenkaerne permalink
      December 27, 2010 12:57 pm

      The “no” in the second line was a typo. Sorry.

      Like

    • December 27, 2010 5:36 pm

      Thank you for the comment!
      Incidentally I have only read 4 of the books on my list above. This should be changed within the forseeable future.
      Quite a nice list you have too. If you get some of them, I may want to borrow them. 😉
      Have you read other Isherwood books? I absolutely adore him.

      Like

  5. christicorbett permalink
    December 28, 2010 5:33 am

    I like the picture of the cat batting at the present. We recently got a kitty and this Christmas was filled with rescuing decorations from her inquisitive paws.

    Christi Corbett
    http://christicorbett.wordpress.com

    Like

    • December 28, 2010 10:04 am

      Thank you! Oh yes, my kitty does that too. All the dangly objects are so interesting!

      Like

  6. Karina Gyldenkaerne permalink
    December 28, 2010 7:56 am

    Me Bookshelf is sue Bookshelf.
    The only Isherwood I have read to date is “Goodbye to Berlin”, and that was ages ago. Absolutely loved it. And I just saw a documentary about the frivolous 20’s in Berlin (you know, it’s “my” period), and they spoke about him and Auden. That’s why I was checking him out at the local lib. Just wasn’t sure I had the time over Christmas.

    Like

    • December 28, 2010 10:06 am

      Thank you!
      I think you’d like Mr Norris too. Oh – you may be interested in checking out the upcoming film based on the memoirs Christopher and His Kind starring Matt Smith. 🙂

      Like

      • Karina Gyldenkaerne permalink
        December 28, 2010 11:45 am

        Uhhh… filmen lyder spændende.
        Det lokale bibliotek har desværre ikke så meget Isherwood på hylderne, men man kan jo bestille hjem 🙂

        Like

      • Karina Gyldenkaerne permalink
        January 2, 2011 2:58 pm

        Another Isherwood film tip – “A Single Man” staring Colin Firth and Matthew Goode. Just saw it and it is wonderful. Firth in the lead is… sublime. A true must-see.

        Like

        • January 3, 2011 9:32 am

          I’ve read the book but yet to see the film. Thank you for mentioning it!

          Like

  7. December 28, 2010 5:12 pm

    I got mostly books for Christmas, which is fine with me, including Ina Garten’s new cookbook, The Hunger Games trilogy, The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett, The Help, and I Still Dream of You by Fannie Flagg. What a luxury to have so many books to dive into! And I’m cooking dinner for a writing friend with recipes from the cookbook tonight.

    Like

    • December 28, 2010 6:45 pm

      I’ve heard a lot of good thing about The Hunger Games. Perhaps I should put it on my list soon. I completely agree with you; new books are wonderful. I’m reading one of my Christmas present.
      Thank you for visiting and commenting!

      Like

Trackbacks

  1. Winter Warmth « Spirit Lights The Way

Leave a Reply

