Skip to content

Looking back, looking forward

December 29, 2010

I’m not one to make a long list of new year’s resolutions, but the new year does prompt in me a sense of looking to the future and thinking back upon the past.

In terms of reading and writing, 2010 was a fairly productive year for me.
I completed my second NaNoWriMo, edited parts of my first one and have written the first draft of probably a fourth of the next parts (it’s going to be a trilogy). I’ve also had the opportunity to write a number of short pieces in the writing group I’m part of. These include a vampire having a laundry day, an angel in a human body trying to figure out what to wear for Halloween, a piece reflecting upon the seasons, and most recently an episode of a Christmas calender that we all took part in writing.
In an earlier post, I’ve already discussed some of the books that I read during 2010, and although I would have liked to have read more, I am satisfied with what I did read. I read a some new authors that I really enjoyed, and I revisited a few favourites.

2011 … I do have a few goals. My “to read” list is long, and I am going to go ahead and start with a few of the books that I have recently purchased or received as Christmas presents.
When it comes to writing, I am going to begin editing the first draft of my NaNoWriMo novel in January. It is going to take a while before I am completely happy with it, I think. And I can’t stick to one project, especially not when it’s revising and not creating something completely new. So I am going to continue writing that trilogy-to-be, and I am going to be doing short stories and other pieces white I edit.
Another plan of mine is to start submitting short fiction to a few places on the web. – But this idea is still in the making, and I plan to go more in depth about submitting and publishing in a later entry.

Well, another thing I did this year was creating this blog. So far I am enjoying the experience, although it’s not even two months old yet. I am astounded and honoured to say that I have readers. – Thank you for reading and commenting. It really means a lot.
– And now that I am on the note of blogging, I thought I should make this a little “meta” and ask a few questions: Would you like me to update on specific weekdays? Would you like more updates (perhaps with small writing-related tidbits) or less (and maybe longer articles)? Have you found my links useful? Would you read rants about specific books or authors? Or are you more interested in my take on writing? Would you like to read excerpts or short stories that I’ve written? Suggestions are very welcome, for the blog as a whole or individual entries. In short, I would like to know what you think.

Now, all that’s left for me to say this time is, happy new year!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2010 3:54 pm

    I’m not going to suggest a framework to you for YOUR blog. I will say this:

    Whether or not something you write resonates with a given reader depends on the reader. If you write honestly, your intended audience will appear while those who are not intended to be in your pool of readers will drift away.

    Enjoy the journey.

    Write on!

    Like

    • December 29, 2010 4:38 pm

      Thank you for the encouragement! I think you are absolutely right.
      Don’t worry; I’m not looking for a framework. I’m merely curious to hear if anyone liked anything in particular, and I know that suggestions can fuel ideas for future posts.

      Like

      • December 29, 2010 4:59 pm

        For sure.

        I find that if I write about what interests ME that others are interested because my passion for the subject matter flows through.

        In contrast, when I write about something I feel I should write about . . . it often falls F~L~A~T!

        Like

    • December 29, 2010 5:31 pm

      Great advice!

      And, to M. Howalt, I’ve enjoyed reading your blog. I have no improvements to suggest. Just enjoy, and we will, too.

      Like

      • December 29, 2010 6:32 pm

        Definitely great advice. I feel the same way about fiction, really, I need to be interested and inspired for it to flow.
        And thank you, Caroline! I’m very glad to hear that.

        Like

  2. December 29, 2010 5:33 pm

    P.S. Let me know if you have any suggestions for my blog. 🙂

    Like

    • December 29, 2010 6:35 pm

      I’m new to your blog (as well as any other’s, really), but I am enjoying it a lot. – So I’ll echo you; enjoy and we will too. 🙂

      Like

  3. christicorbett permalink
    December 31, 2010 8:12 pm

    I’m a brand new reader of your blog, so I’m unqualified to give suggestions…yet 🙂

    So far, I’m really liking it.

    Christi Corbett
    http://christicorbett.wordpress.com

    Like

  4. Karina Gyldenkaerne permalink
    January 2, 2011 2:53 pm

    So far I am enjoying your blog very much. I think it is well balanced. I like that posts so far have been varied in theme, form and content. It also succeeds in reflecting your personal view on subjects without ending up just being all about you.
    Like I said – nicely balanced.

    Like

    • January 3, 2011 9:32 am

      Thank you very much! That is pretty much what I’m aiming for, so I’m glad you think it works. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

