Skip to content

Exposure

January 18, 2011

Some of you may recall that I mumbled something about submitting short fiction to contests and webzines around new year. Here is an update on my endeavour.

According to plan, I started. I already had a couple of stories ready and have since then written a few more. Some of them have been sent off, others need more work. All of them are very short pieces of fiction (flashfiction, nanofiction – none of them more than 1,000 words long).
I was prepared for rejections of course, and I almost celebrated the first one I had. It felt a little like some odd rite of passage. What I did celebrate more, though, was opening my mailbox this morning to find that one of the websites to which I had submitted a story had accepted it!
– I will tell you which one and when it is scheduled for publication in a later post as I plan to write more on the subject of publication when I have had more replies to my submissions. Hopefully my experiences can be of some help to those of you who want to submit or are already submitting. For now, if you are interested, you can have a look at Duotrope’s Digest. It’s a database of literally thousands of fiction and poetry publications currently available.

One more thing. This isn’t just about exposure of my writings. I just made a new page here on my blog. It will serve as a permanent kind of blog list where you can make a comment and thus leave a trail to your own space on the internet. Please do – I would really like to visit your blogs (if I haven’t already), and I’m sure others would too.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2011 9:42 pm

    Congratulations on your rejection letters and . . on your Acceptance Letter!

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who looks forward to future rejection letters XD . .

    Like

    • January 18, 2011 9:52 pm

      Thank you very much!
      I mostly hope that the editors have the time to give me a reason with the rejection so that I may learn more about the market.

      Like

  2. January 18, 2011 9:45 pm

    Congrats on the acceptance! That first one is a great feeling, and what’s even better is that all the subsequent ones I hope you have are just as exciting.

    Good luck and keep at it. Let us know when you’ve got an official publication date.

    Like

    • January 18, 2011 9:55 pm

      Thank you so much for the kind words! I do hope to get more, but I’ll be patient.
      And I will be sure to let you know where and when. πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. January 19, 2011 4:54 am

    Congrats! It’s nice when others appreciate our words.

    Here’s to more acceptances coming down the pike.

    Like

  4. January 20, 2011 8:00 am

    Congratulations! Looking forward to finding out more about the site that accepted your piece. Thanks for the link to Duotrope’s Digest. I am not at the point of submitting my writing, but am encouraged by those who do.

    Like

    • January 20, 2011 11:07 am

      Thank you very much!
      I’ll be sure to write more about it, but I want to have a few more sites to compare with before I go into too much detail. I’m glad you could use the link!

      Like

  5. christicorbett permalink
    January 21, 2011 5:25 pm

    Congrats on your letters (both the acceptance and the rejection…much to learn from both) and to the fact that you are ready to be sending letters.

    That in itself is an accomplishment!

    Looking forward to more details in the near future about the acceptance one πŸ™‚

    Christi Corbett
    http://christicorbett.wordpress.com

    Like

    • January 21, 2011 7:57 pm

      Thanks a lot! πŸ˜€
      I’m not ready with a novel yet, but hopefully that will happen someday too.

      Like

  6. Karina Gyldenkaerne permalink
    January 23, 2011 3:46 pm

    Whoa! How niice – you got a story accepted. Yay! I can’t wait to hear more.

    Like

    • January 23, 2011 7:18 pm

      Thank you! πŸ™‚ I’m still waiting to hear back from a few other places.

      Like

Leave a Reply

