Skip to content

Webly Wednesday: Cats and writers … and towels

May 25, 2011

What do cats have to do with writing? Oh, a lot. I wrote a post about it a while ago, and it turns out that there is indeed an uncanny connection. Just look at these links.

I know. Any excuse to show you pictures of my cat, right? But look at how ... um, creative he is.

And last, but not least: I promised you towels. Today, May 25th is Towel Day. It is a celebration of the late author Douglas Adams who wrote The Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy in which you are a “hoopy frood” (“great guy”) if you know where your towel is. And yes, I do intend to bring a towel with me when I leave for a writing group meeting in half an hour.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2011 4:22 pm

    I did not know about Towel Day!

    But I’m all for celebrating Douglas Adams – one of the few authors who really makes me laugh out loud!

    Like

    • May 26, 2011 7:54 am

      I agree – Douglas Adams made me laugh too. He was brilliant. And I’m glad to be enlightening you as to this “holiday”. 😉
      Thank you for the comment!

      Like

  2. May 25, 2011 4:36 pm

    Happy Towel Day to you and your creative kitties!

    And thank you for the link back!

    Those links are fun, thanks for posting. I laughed out loud at “10 Things a Writer’s Cat MUST Know.” 😄

    Like

    • May 26, 2011 7:56 am

      Thank you! Happy Towel Day to you as well. I’m glad to report that I wasn’t the only one who showed up with a towel for writing group.
      Glad you enjoyed the links. :3
      And thank you for bringing the tumblr to my attention! And for commenting of course. 🙂

      Like

  3. May 26, 2011 12:28 am

    Love it! I always thought that I was destined to be a writer simply because I’m a night owl, but now, with the cat connection, my fate is sealed 🙂

    Hitchhiker’s Guid… is still in my Green Room (my shelf of books-to-read), so I didn’t know about towel day, but I did use a towel to dry my car after washing it. So I sort of celebrated, right? 🙂

    Like

    • May 26, 2011 8:12 am

      Well, there you are. Your career path is determined by pets. 😉
      I’d say that is a kind of celebration, yes. And I do reccommend the book(s). They’re wonderfully funny.
      Thank you for the comment! 🙂

      Like

  4. christicorbett permalink
    May 26, 2011 4:13 pm

    We are about at the end of our rope with our new kitten.

    She is super cute until the sun goes down, then it sounds like there’s a small pony running through our house, crashing into walls, jumping up and attacking doorknobs, and pulling the throw rugs around.

    Yesterday we tried not letting her sleep at all during the day, but come nightfall there she was, up on her hind legs, boxing the dog. Trouble is, the dog loves their playfighting sessions just as much as she does

    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

    Oh, sorry. I fell asleep there for a momement because I’m so TIRED!

    Christi Corbett
    http://christicorbett.wordpress.com

    Like

    • May 26, 2011 6:33 pm

      They can be such a handful, can’t they? Luckily the big cat plays with the small one for me a lot, but they can get pretty noisy … especially at five in the morning.
      I’m told it gets better when they get older, so hang in there. 😄
      Thank you for visiting and commenting! 😀

      Like

  5. May 30, 2011 5:28 am

    Thank you for this post! Now I don’t feel like I’m the only odd cat-lady out there. 🙂 I love the first link – seeing writers and their cats together makes me happy!

    Like

    • May 30, 2011 9:10 am

      Oh, don’t worry – There’s a lot of odd cat-ladies and cat-men out there, especially of the writerly type. 🙂
      Thank you for commenting – and liking! 😀

      Like

  6. The Compulsive Writer permalink
    May 30, 2011 5:41 pm

    I had a cat for like 2 seconds. Okay, it was a month. We were foster parents for her. After she was adopted I tried to get her back. Then she had kittens and the agency refused my adoption papers (something about no kids under 5). Seriously. I still miss that cat. And…in a way I believe she taught me to be fearless when writing. Great post.

    Like

    • May 30, 2011 7:46 pm

      That is really sad. Having to give up a pet like that must be really upsetting. I know it’s not the same cat (they’re all different of course), but perhaps you could try to get another one at some point if you have the time and opportunity for it.
      Thank you for visiting and commenting! I’m glad you liked the post. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

