Skip to content

Webly Wednesday: Fictional maps

June 15, 2011

Ever invented a world and needed maps for it? Ever been fascinated by fictional maps in your favourite fantasy novel? Here are some links for you.

Landscaping From Lantern Hollow Press’ blog. Lots of tips for building the geography of a fictional world.

The Map Room: Imaginary Places Resources and information about everything from comic book cartography to Tolkien’s Middle-Earth to Star Wars.

Urban Geofiction Cities that are not set in a fantasy or science fiction world. Very down to Earth stuff – but fictional.

Strange Maps Not fictional ones, but if you want to see some creative takes on maps, this is a good place to start.

Imagined Cartography Quiz And now that you’ve learnt so much about maps … Can you identify ten different maps from books?

It’s been years since I made an actual map for a story, but I have done layouts of houses and ย the like and I’ve been using resources such as Google Maps for planning when distance and real locations are important to the story.

Edit: I have actually begun to make maps again now that I am writing the fantasy novella Conviction.

What about you? Have you ever drawn a map for something you wrote?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. noothergods permalink
    June 15, 2011 7:35 pm

    Hey, thanks for the trackback! Looks like you found some great resources here.

    Like

    • June 15, 2011 7:42 pm

      You’re welcome! I do enjoy your blog, and that post was right up the alley for my theme this time. ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thank you for the comment!

      Like

  2. Maggie permalink
    June 15, 2011 8:20 pm

    Thank you! Maps and other “spatial” matters are difficult for me, so these links help quite a bit!

    Like

    • June 15, 2011 9:27 pm

      I’m glad you found them useful! Geography and the like can be really tricky.
      Thank you for the comment – and for liking. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. June 16, 2011 1:03 am

    I don’t normally draw maps since my stories take place in real cities, but I do check Google Maps a lot.

    I also noticed that my characters live in houses that I or my friends have lived it. That was never a conscious choice but it certainly makes plotting out action easier.

    Can’t wait to follow the links!

    Like

    • June 16, 2011 8:48 am

      I’ve been doing real cities for a while, too, now. Funny about the houses. I’ve never had anyone live in a house where I have, but I have used a house in my street as a model for one.
      I hope you’ll enjoy the links!
      Thank you for the comment! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  4. Aidee permalink
    February 2, 2014 3:49 pm

    These are great resources. Sometimes making a map helps me get a better feel for a place. Occasionally it’s helped collaborators share a vision. Thanks! I was so happy to find this on Pinterest. Now I can honestly say I was there for research purposes. LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. March 9, 2015 10:10 am

    Is there any shop where I can by books like this? I really love stuff like this. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • March 9, 2015 1:24 pm

      Thank you for the comment! ๐Ÿ™‚ You mean books with fictional maps? I haven’t come across any, but I’m sure you can find guides to a lot of fantasy books/films that include maps. The books pictured were my grandparents’. They were published between the two world wars, so the best place to pick up books like those is probably in a shop with used books or antiques.

      Like

Leave a Reply

