Skip to content

“Focal Point” on Every Day Fiction

October 1, 2011

A few months ago, I sent another piece of flash fiction to Every Day Fiction. Yesterday I received a letter of acceptance yesterday and now it is published.

The first draft of the story, Focal Point, originated during a writing group meeting last autumn. We do writing prompts, and this challenge was called, “Out of one’s comfort zone”. I chose the subject because it related to my NaNoWriMo project last year and I wanted to practise writing a protagonist of that particular occupation.

I found the story again some months ago and decided that I liked it enough to put some more work into it. So I rewrote it and submitted it to Every Day Fiction. And now … Well, now I am very excited and pleased with the acceptance, and I can’t wait to see what the readers make of it.

I have to cut down on using the computer right now because I’ve strained my elbow/wrist using said computer too much, soΒ currently I’m spending a lot of time on a notebook with hand written notes about the characters and the settings for this year’s NaNoWriMo. It’s very cosy and fun. I’ve even managed to draw a world map which is something I haven’t done since my teenage years. I have a lot of framework for the project, but I’m sticking to the idea of not planning the plot out this year and just see where it takes me.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2011 4:45 pm

    Congrats on the acceptance! I hope your wrist gets better soon so that you can write many more great stories! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Maggie permalink
    October 1, 2011 6:15 pm

    Congratulations! Good luck with your NaNo planning!

    Like

  3. October 1, 2011 10:06 pm

    First of all:CONGRATULATIONS! That’s great news, looking forward to reading the story and I hope your wrist pain goes, I had very bad wrist/elbow pain a few months ago, so I know how you feel. Get plenty of rest, and I hope it passes soon.

    Like

    • October 2, 2011 10:25 am

      Thank you very much! πŸ˜€ I hope you’ll like it.
      I actually thought of your problem when this started. Thank you for the well-wishes. πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. October 2, 2011 2:29 am

    Congratulations on being accepted. I’ll look forward to seeing you on NaNo this year.

    Like

  5. October 3, 2011 5:39 pm

    Congrats on the publication! And good luck with NaNoWriMo!

    Like

  6. October 9, 2011 6:38 pm

    Congratulations — that’s wonderful!

    I hope you wrist feels better by November!

    Like

    • October 11, 2011 8:57 pm

      Thank you very much! πŸ˜€
      And so do I. It ought to. Otherwise I’ll have to do NaNo by hand which will be … weird.

      Like

  7. October 11, 2011 4:45 am

    Many many congratulations! I have it bookmarked so I can read it when I don’t have to grade papers.

    Like

    • October 11, 2011 8:58 pm

      Thank you very much! πŸ™‚
      Grading papers … *cheering you on* I feel lucky that my classes this year are only oral language classes.

      Like

Leave a Reply

