Skip to content

Webly Wednesday: What to read?

December 14, 2011

With the holiday season lurking around the corner, you may be wondering what to put on your wishlist in the bookish department. I’ve found a few links that may be able to point you somewhere interesting.

Ever wondered if there is something out there similar to your favourite author? Of what kind of books would be nice to read when you like a certain novel? Here are a some links for places that try to help you with finding something new to read:

  • Literature Map
    Type the name of your favourite author and a mind mappish chart spreads out from it with writers that people who like the author in question also like. The site also hostsΒ Gnod’s suggestions that will give you suggestions if you put in the names of three writers that you like.
  • NPR’s Top 100 Sci Fi and Fantasy Books
    Aflowchart of science fiction and fantasy books. You answer questions such as “Looking for an old-fashioned trilogy?” and “Interested in Dystopian fiction?” and are led to the cover of a book based on your answers.
  • Which Horror Novel is Right for You?
    The same idea as above, but with horror novels.

Now, I don’t think that any of these are necessarily spot on. But from what I can tell, they can provide some inspiration for what books or authors to take a look at if you don’t know them at all … As if our “to read”-lists aren’t long enough.

Did you find something useful with either of these sites, or do you think it is rubbish? Do you know other similar sites? And is your “to read”-list chronically very long too?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Maggie permalink
    December 14, 2011 3:58 pm

    This is excellent. I’ve been looking for a new fantasy series to start reading, and this really helps. Thanks for posting. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • December 14, 2011 4:39 pm

      I’m glad you could use them! πŸ™‚ Good luck finding a great series, and thank you for the comment.

      Like

  2. December 14, 2011 5:03 pm

    Excellent links, I’ve added them to my Favorites. My “to read” list was only a mile long, thanks for helping me lengthen it! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. December 23, 2011 5:56 pm

    Haha, you’re welcome. πŸ™‚ To read lists can never get too long. Well, or they don’t seem to stop growing at least.

    Like

  4. christicorbett permalink
    January 4, 2012 3:15 am

    I’m back from my blogging hiatus and realized that even though I’m a “follower” of your blog, I still don’t get your posts in my email account.

    Must go play detective now and figure out why 😦

    Christi Corbett

    Like

    • January 30, 2012 9:33 pm

      That was odd. – But welcome back, and I’m glad to see you here! πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. January 11, 2012 2:09 am

    Haven’t seen a new post (or comments) from you in a while…are you on hiatus? Hope everything’s OK!

    Like

    • January 30, 2012 9:35 pm

      Aw, thank you for your concern! I’m afraid I’m a bit of flaky blogger at times. I’ve been working a lot on my stories and neglecting WP lately. I’m sorry about that!

      Like

Leave a Reply

