Skip to content

Werewolves, vampires and witchcraft kept me from blogging (not really)

May 1, 2013

Hello, blog. And hello, followers. Nice to see that you’re still around. Admittedly, I haven’t paid much attention to WordPress lately, but it’s not for lack of writing.

So, without further ado, please allow me to indulge and go through the last year in writing:

ImageApril 2012 was Script Frenzy, an event arranged by the people behind NaNoWriMo. I just managed to participate the last year before they cancelled it. The idea was to write a script in a month, and I teamed up with a friend for it. We have written a few short stories together before starring two characters from our respective stories. Their own stories are not related, but we like the absurdities that happen when we put them together in a story. So we wrote a “film script” (will never actually be filmed), an action-packed comedy involving a shady group of people who want to summon a monster in a field in the countryside with the help of brainwashed gamers.

cn_winner_180x180In August 2012, I participated in Camp NaNo. I had an idea roughly two weeks before the beginning of Camp and managed to work my way a little more than 50,000 words into a story about a bloke whom I lovingly like to call “Hemingway’s code hero as a licensed werewolf hunter”. I didn’t know exactly where the story was headed until the middle of August, but it turned out to have a direction that involved a lot of development for the protagonist as well as some ethical questions, and I grew very fond of it.

Winner-180x180– So when NaNoWriMo arrived in November 2012, I decided to work more on that story. 50K words were not nearly enough to complete the tale. I spent the month adding another 50K to it, extending the narrative chronologically only a little, as I focussed mainly on adding a lot of stories within the story – backstory, character development, exploration of themes that I originally only briefly touched. It is the most complete first draft that I have written in the past … Well, if I say ten years, I’m not stretching it.

I spend the rest of 2012 revising (and I’m not yet done), taking notes for another story that is very dear to me, and writing scenes and snippets of a web of related stories that I hope to someday connect.

2013-Participant-Campfire-Square-ButtonNow (April 2013), I just completed another Camp NaNo. This time I experimented with writing a fantasy story for children or young adults. I set my personal wordcount goal at 40K, which seemed quite sensible in terms of time. It did turn out that I underestimated how much story was really in that story (again), so I now have a part one of two and will hopefully finish the story over the next few months.

I feel tempted to pick up blogging again. But we’ll see. I’m not expecting to deliver consistency in that area, but I do think I have some thoughts, ideas and news to share.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2013 5:43 pm

    Nice to hear from you again! Sounds like a great year of writing. Do I see in your “Accomplices” picture a new little friend for Reed?

    Like

    • May 1, 2013 5:45 pm

      Oops, I knew I spelled his name wrong. Reid.

      Like

    • May 2, 2013 2:31 pm

      Thank you for the comment! I hope to catch up on your blog soon. Yes, it’s been a good year in writing. πŸ™‚
      And yes, we have a new kitten. Sadly Gin passed away this spring, and we decided to get a kitten – not least for Reid because he’s never been alone. They’re getting along really well, and Reid has stepped up to the occasion of being “the grown up cat”. I’ve just uploaded some picture of them to my Flickr if you’re interested. πŸ™‚
      (And you aren’t the first person to misspell him, don’t worry. πŸ™‚ You get extra points for actually spotting it.)

      Like

Leave a Reply

