Skip to content

JukePop Serials – good news for readers and writers

August 19, 2014

Today I want to talk to you about something called JukePop and share some good news with you. Yep, those two things are definitely related.

Some time ago I discovered a link to JukePop on NaNoWriMo‘s sponsor website. I clicked the link and discovered that I really liked the sleek design and the concept of the site. It turned out to be a place for readers to find serialised fiction and read it for free on a computer or a mobile device, vote for their favourite stories and support their favourite authors. For writers it’s a platform to publish novels in a professional environment with a submission/acceptance process that is more relaxed than with traditional publishing houses and relies on them to manage their own schedule. Financially speaking, most of it depends on your readers. If you are voted to the top or people donate, that’s great. If not, you can hope for a lot of exposure. A definite plus is that you keep all rights to your novel.
Actually, Scott Alumbaugh, who is an author there, does a great job of explaining how JukePop works and why it’s a brilliant idea, so you may want to pay him a visit for a more in-depth description.

Can you guess where this is going? Yep, I submitted a story to JukePop this month. And yep, it was accepted. I am super excited about it!
I have wanted to share some of my longer fiction for a while now, but I have been searching for the right platform for it. I’m still working on a story that I hope to send to a traditional publishing company where I live (and it is written in my native language) and still writing several other stories (on and off), but this step is really a big one for me. I’ve had short fiction published before, but my passion is writing novels, so I am happy that I get to publish one of them.

So what is this novel? When can you read it?
Well, the story is called Aconitum. I began writing it two years ago and spent a few months on the first draft. After that I’ve reordered the chapters, discarded a few, added others and done a bit of correcting. Now I’m editing it thoroughly and changing some things so that the chapters will fit the serial format better.
Aconitum is the tale of a hunter who lives in a world where the industrial revolution never really took hold. It deals with a society which knows that werewolves are a real threat and the moral problems of hunting down someone who may be a normal human being most of the time. I always find it hard to fit my stories into genres. We can call it a literary supernatural alternate timeline novel with a bit of mystery and hopefully a laugh or two along the way, but that’s not really a genre. On JukePop it will be filed under “fantasy” as the primary genre.

The first chapter will go live in a few days. I’ll post the link here on WordPress of course and hope that you will be curious enough to take a look at it. After that, a new chapter will be added every week.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2014 7:10 pm

    Really excited to start reading it! I’ll be on the lookout for it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

