Skip to content

Aconitum’s first full month on JukePop Serials

October 1, 2014

It’s been a month and a little over a week since the first chapter of my serial novel Aconitum was published on JukePop Serials. I would like to tell you about … No, wait. Before I start talking, I want to show you this picture:

kaffe

Yep, it’s a latte. More specifically a very nice caramel latte that I had at a local cafe today. Don’t worry, this isn’t going to be about coffee. But it is the story of why I went out to have that particular latte.

So far, my experience with JukePop has been great. When I submitted my novel, I hoped to have it accepted and to get into a schedule of posting a new chapter every week and to get a few readers who would +Vote the story and perhaps even drop me a comment. Well, check, check, check, and check! And that is far from all. Aconitum has been given more attention than I had dared hoping for, and I have received a lot of useful comments – suggestions, critique, speculation, encouragement, and questions.

I have had the opportunity to read some really good stories written by fellow JukePop authors. Among my favourites are fairytales, alternate historic fiction, comedies, fantasy and science fiction stories. If you’re curious, you can take a look at some of the ones that I follow. I’m also really happy that I’ve gotten to talk to other writers because the community is friendly and welcoming.

A screenshot from JukePop of some of the stories on the hotlist in the middle of September.

A screenshot from JukePop of some of the stories on the hotlist in the middle of September.

Is JukePop perfect? I don’t think that any platform is. There will always be technical glitches and, when money or popularity is involved, some people are bound to take advantage of loopholes in the system or use questionable methods of gaining attention. But my opinion is that JukePop has a very attractive system and a lot of potential for growing and expanding to a larger audience (currently JukePop is having a Kickstarter Campaign to make indie novels available to more libraries), and I think that most of the kinks can be dealt with efficiently.

Okay, so what about the latte?
Every month, the 30 stories that have received the most +Votes get rewarded. Their writers are paid, they get a fancy little ribbon on their covers, and they are promoted by JukePop on Facebook and Twitter. You can probably see where this is going, right? I really did not expect to make it to the Top 30. And certainly not after Aconitum’s first full month online. But there we are. Number 28. I am so excited and happy and thrilled and grateful!
A few days ago, I told a friend that if I made it to the list someday, I would go out, symbolically spend some of the money on a cup of coffee to celebrate, and take a picture of it. So there you have it: The latte that Aconitum earned me.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 2, 2014 3:35 am

    Yaaaay!!! Congrats!! 😀

    Like

  2. October 4, 2014 4:30 pm

    i Congratulations on that well-earned latte! I feel like you and I both approached Jukepop with the same expectations only to be completely knocked off guard by the fact that people are actually willing to read your writing. It’s a good feeling if I do say so.

    Like

    • October 4, 2014 4:38 pm

      Thank you very much! Yes, I did hope to get a few readers, but I had no expectations, and learning that there are strangers out there who want to read your story and like it … Wow! Good feeling indeed. 🙂

      Like

    • May 9, 2017 1:41 am

      Personally, I find innrbpoehecsimly sung, gruesomely bad lyrics to be rather entertaining at times…as long as the music part is OK. Sung in English, they’d just suck, but sung in Finnish or Italian or something there is a certain acceptability- like getting drunk and listening to mariachi music.

      Like

    • August 30, 2017 3:41 pm

      Thanks for the tips shared on the blog. Another thing I would like to express is that fat reduction is not information on going on a dietary fads and trying to get rid of as much weight as you can in a few days. The most effective way to lose weight naturally is by using it bit by bit and right after some basic ideas which can make it easier to make the most through your attempt to drop some weight. You may understand and be following many of these tips, nevertheless reinforcing knowledge never hurts.

      Like

Leave a Reply

