Skip to content

NaNoWhy*Mo?

November 2, 2014

November. For the past five years, that has meant committing to writing at least 50,000 words of fiction for NaNoWriMo. I wasn’t going to participate this year, but then I changed my mind.

I know there are arguments for and against NaNoWriMo, and a lot of them are valid.Participant-2014-Twitter-Profile
I agree with two of the major naysayer arguments: You don’t have a finished novel by the end of the month. And you shouldn’t just force yourself to write a novel. But you do have a first draft that you can continue to work on for months or years to come, and while I would strongly advise against writing if you don’t have an idea or the urge to write, a project like this can be helpful to get you started (see next point).
And I agree with the yaysayer arguments as well: NaNoWriMo is fun and social. And it makes it easier to you allow yourself to commit to writing. You can try out something new and have fun with it and talk to other participants online or go to write-ins and make connections. Writing is often something (for those who don’t write full time) that isn’t allowed to be top priority or which gets trampled by self-doubt, and an endeavour like this can give you a great boost.
NaNoWriMo doesn’t work for every writer. But it does for me.

I have decided to settle for less than 50K this year because I am too busy editing Aconitum for its weekly installments to complete this new story (and I am so thrilled to be doing it that I don’t want to take a break from it). Why did I sign up, then? Because I really wanted to get started on this new idea that popped into my head this summer and still is sitting there, waiting for me to put it into words. I want to get the beginning of it typed and see where it takes me.

Before I sign off here to get some writing and editing done, here’s a short recap of what I’ve been up to in the last month:
I am super happy and grateful to be able to say that Aconitum made it to JukePop‘s monthly Top 30 again in October, this time as number 14. And I had a piece of flash fiction, Innocence, published on a new site called QuarterReads. If you like reading or writing flash fiction, I definitely reccommend taking a look at the site.

*Disclaimer: The header isn’t very funny if you’re one of those people who pronounce the event [na-no-REE-mo] and not [na-no-RYE-mo]. Just saying.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

