Skip to content

[Insert witty post title]

December 9, 2014

No, I didn’t actually forget to replace the title. I just couldn’t think of anything fitting for this post since it will be a little more random than I usually let them be. So instead, I give you paragraph titles.

On NaNoWriMo 2014
As I predicted, I didn’t get to 50K this year. It felt odd because that’s what I’ve aimed for and done for the past few years, but apart from the great feeling of having written a whole lot and reached the official goal, I got everything else that I usually want out of NaNoWriMo. I let myself write a new story that I really wanted to and explore its world and the people in it. And I let it surprise me. I never really know how the voice/tone/genre will end up when I start a new story. This one turned out to be a whole lot more snarky and tongue-in-cheek than I had expected. It’s the first story I’ve written in a very long time that could be classified as a comedy. Apart from that, my critique group also had a few write-ins, which is always very nice and cozy. I managed write around 16K in November, and the story is far from over. But I’m going to continue it when I can, and I need to do a fair bit of research concerning the setting and some historical and mythical facts as well.

On Aconitum
My JukePop endeavour is going quite well. Actually, it’s going better than I’d ever dared to hope. My serial novel has made it to Top 30 for the past three months, and in November it even made it to top 10. And around a week ago, it passed 500 +votes in total. I’m flabbergasted and chuffed and grateful beyond words. The Twitter community surrounding JukePop (@JukePopSerials) is also very cool. Connecting with fellow writers there to talk about writing and reading and a lot of other things is really great. And I may even have a collaboration in the works with the author of one of my favourite serials. (More about that later.)

Right … What else have I been up to lately? Working, reading (my most recent book purchases are Krampusnacht, a short story anthology, and Ti faldgruber, a Danish book about translation) … And of course being a cat perch. Certain furry, four-legged individuals would claim that it is a very important function of mine.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2014 1:52 am

    Yay! Very flattered for the shout out XD

    Like

Leave a Reply

