Skip to content

Gearing Up for Rural Fantasy: Dartmoor Inspiration

March 18, 2015

With CampNaNoWriMo around the corner, I’m doing a bit of research for my project, but some of it I did years ago without even knowing it.

A while back my computer malfunctioned. Luckily I had backupped (phew). Unfortunately, my external hard drive broke before I was done transferring everything (argh). I didn’t lose any of my writing (double phew), but I thought I’d lost a bunch of photos until the other day when I managed to salvage some of them from an even older computer (triple phew).

Some of the pictures were taken on a trip to Devon, England (visiting friend and fellow writer Mike), where I saw the beautiful Dartmoor. Incidentally the story I’m about to start writing takes place in that area, so I thought I’d share a few of my inspiration photos.

I hope you’ll enjoy them!

SAMSUNG DIGIMAX A55W
SAMSUNG DIGIMAX A55W
SAMSUNG DIGIMAX A55W
SAMSUNG DIGIMAX A55W

SAMSUNG DIGIMAX A55W

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Sapphire permalink
    March 19, 2015 12:47 pm

    Was I there that day?

    Like

    • March 19, 2015 2:25 pm

      Yes, you were! We had lunch up by a tor, and you took a picture of me petting a pony. 🙂 And now that I’ve finally found your website, I linked to you in the post. 🙂

      Like

  2. March 19, 2015 4:17 pm

    I’m about to write my first fantasy story as well, and I find photos very helpful for that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • March 20, 2015 11:32 am

      Sounds exciting! Is it the one you’ve posted the title teaser for? 🙂 I agree; photos can be very helpful. Thanks for the comment!

      Like

  3. christicorbett permalink
    March 20, 2015 5:04 am

    Beautiful pictures!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Elias Helfer permalink
    March 20, 2015 8:43 am

    Talk about evocative landscape!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. May 2, 2015 10:21 pm

    Fabulous photos 🙂 Makes me want to go to Dartmoor again!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dean Moses permalink
    June 2, 2015 4:58 pm

    What wonderful pictures! I’m jealous of how close you were to those beautiful horses. I would have ridden one home. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • June 2, 2015 9:52 pm

      Thanks a lot for dropping by my blog! – And for the kind words. 🙂 They were quite lovely, those horses.

      Like

  7. May 9, 2017 2:24 am

    0oo0 pisze:Jak tak to bedzie wygladac to bÄ™dzie premera roku – musze sobie usprawnic kortnpem.uajwiÄ™ksza nadziej wiaże, z bitwami morskimi i oblezeniami miast które w koncu bÄ™da wygladac jak te ze strarozytnoÅ›ci, a nie jak kwadratowe bloki… no i oblezenie równoczeÅ›nie z morza i lÄ…du – to byÅ‚oby nieasomowite!!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. The 7/7/7 Challenge | Muse X-ing

Leave a Reply

