Skip to content

The End is Nigh

May 31, 2015

It’s not as ominous as it sounds, I promise. But to me, this is a pretty big deal.

You see, there is only one chapter and an epilogue left of Aconitum to be posted on JukePop (on June 4th and June 6th respectively). The whole novel will stay online, at least for a while, but if you’re interested, it would be super awesome if you headed on over to read or catch up. Aconitum has been in Top 30 every month since September last year, and I would absolutely love to stay there for June as well (because then I get to keep the nifty little banner forever.)

“So what happens now?” you ask, excitedly. I don’t know if you really do, but for the sake of this post, I’m going to pretend that you do. And I for one think it’s a pretty good question.

Hector Rothenberg

Hector Rothenberg as I imagine him in all his scruffy glory.

To be honest, I’m not entirely sure. But I’m excited. It’s been an amazing ride. When I submitted the first chapter to JukePop, I didn’t know if it would be accepted, and I certainly did not expect to get so many people checking it out, voting for it, following it every week and giving feedback. Knowing that readers are waiting for the next chapter has been very encouraging, and seeing people’s reactions to the events of the novel as they unfold has been extremely valuable to me as a writer. Because of that, I do know two things: 1) It’s not going to be the end of Aconitum. And 2) It’s not the last time I serialise a story.

I have not made up my mind as to what happens to Aconitum next, but I would love to see it on paper. As of now, I’m leaning towards submitting it to international or Danish publishing companies whose profiles are a good fit. But first I will go through another round of editing and add some chapters that are not in the serial.

I’m also planning on treating my readers to an extra short story or two at some point. And Hector just may appear in a joint venture I’m brewing up with another writer. Whether there will be an actual sequel to Aconitum is too early to say, but I’m not ruling out the possibility.

As for my next serial … Remember I spent April writing the first draft of a MG or YA fantasy novel? I had a lot of fun with it, and I really thought that was going to be the next story I wanted to share, maybe after a few months’ break from serialising. But then something else happened.

JukePop and Black Hill Press are teaming up for a novella competition over the summer. The winners will have professional covers and be published as paperbacks. When I read about the competition, it occurred to me that I actually have a complete first draft of a novella that I’ve wanted to work on and eventually publish. So why not give it a try? That’s going to be my next serial. It will be published on JukePop between the end of June and August in weekly installments, but since I have a lot to say about it, all that will go in a different post.

So … those are my plans for the near future. How about you? Do you have any publications coming up or exciting new projects to work on?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2015 4:26 am

    Yaay! Now I can finally leave you a real review 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  2. June 1, 2015 9:24 am

    Good job! Now get off the top 30 list and give everyone else a chance. Haha, just kidding. You earned that spot. From what I’ve read of Acotinum, I’ve no doubt you’d get published. Or at least, a successful in the self-publishing circuit.

    Ninja shameless plug. Go read Chronicles of Tearha 😛
    http://jukepop.com/home/read/7407

    Liked by 1 person

    • June 1, 2015 10:50 am

      Haha! 🙂 Thank you very much. That’s a great compliment! 🙂
      I already added your new serial to my bookshelf. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

