Skip to content

Nerdy Necklaces

June 10, 2015

I admit it: I love nerdy accessories and clothes with a stylish design. You know, a bag with a discreet Star Trek reference that people who aren’t familiar with Star Trek will just think of as a cool logo. That sort of thing.

nerdynecklaces

I have a few nerdy necklaces of the writing and reading related kind.

One is shaped like a pencil (I bought it before NaNoWriMo a few years back).

Another is Holden Caulfield’s hat (you know, from J.D. Salinger’s The Catcher in the Rye).

When I started serialising Aconitum, I got the full moon since werewolves are strongly associated with full moon.

The silver bullet was a birthday gift from a friend, also in honour of Aconitum and the protagonist who is a werewolf hunter.

Sometimes I feel extra inspired by wearing one of those. It’s a bit like saying, “This is something that matters to me. It’s something I want to do.”

Do you have any writing or reading related jewellery or accessories?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2015 4:48 am

    Oh man where do I even begin? That’s like all of them! 😄 I’ve got this sweatshirt with horses all over it because it looked like something Caroline would wear in a modern AU

    Liked by 1 person

    • June 12, 2015 6:36 pm

      Hehe, that sounds neat. I love when you can connect with a story like that.

      Like

  2. June 15, 2015 9:17 am

    For awhile, I was embarrassed to admit it, since guys don’t generally accessorize. But I have a pocket watch that inspired The Watcher, and a white hoodie that have made into the looks of many of my characters.

    Liked by 1 person

    • June 15, 2015 3:43 pm

      Everybody should be allowed to accessorize in my book. 🙂 (But maybe that’s easy for me to say since they actually do where I live.) I think it’s awesome that you have those things. (And btw, yep, some of those necklaces do have a totem function for me.)

      Like

Leave a Reply

