Skip to content

Post Aconitum (And Mid Conviction)

July 26, 2015

aconitumstatusIt’s been a while, but I’ve been up to here (insert hand gesture at neck/ear height) in writing and revising lately. Here’s everything you never wanted to hear about my serial adventures so far.

So … Aconitum ended in June. I’ve said it before, but I really enjoyed running it as a serial. At the time of writing this, the novel has 2,393 votes in total and is the 17th most bookshelved serial on JukePop. I’m very, very satisfied with that. I really had no idea what would happen when I submitted it last August, but there’s a bunch of amazing people on the site, writers as well as readers, who have been very supportive and helped spreading the word.

Also, I have enjoyed and am enjoying reading a lot of serials on JukePop as well, and I hope I’m able to support them too.

convictionstatus

For now Hector & co are waiting for me to put back on my editing hat and go through one more round of revisions before I seek another platform for the novel. But that will be a little while yet. Because at the moment, all my editing energy goes into Conviction, my serial novella.

I posted the seventh chapter (out of thirteen) last Thursday. So far the reception has been everything I could have hoped for. I must admit that posting weekly chapters and waiting to see what regular readers think of the twists and turns of the storyย is quite addictive. How the serial will do in Black Hill Press’ Summer Writing Project, I have no idea, but just being part of it is really great. If you need something cool to read for the summer, I wholeheartedly recommend taking a look at some of the titles there. I am devouring a number of them every time there’s a new update.

Oh, I almost forgot. – I said I’d been writing too. I’m doing Camp NaNoWriMo again this month. I’ve set a really low wordcount goal for myself because I really just wanted to play around with a few ideas and see where they took me, and I’ve had fun writing with no plan whatsoever. Some of it may end up as new serial, butย it’s really nice to let loose when the rest of my story time is spent editing without making too many solid plans.

Have you read some good books this summer? Or writtenย one, maybe?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2015 4:58 pm

    I’m not sure how I feel about there only being thirteen chapters in Conviction. On the one hand, I’m excited to find out the rest of Iliya’s story but on the other… it feels like it’ll be over way too soon. It will leave me free to pursue Aconitum however, though I am hilariously late to that party. I’m glad Camp is going well! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • July 27, 2015 5:20 pm

      Aw, thank you very much! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m so happy that you’re enjoying it. It has to be a novella (what with the contest an all), but maybe I could interest you with this collection of short stories set in that world that I wrote a while back? Some of them feature Iliya. Of course, I’d love to hear what you think of Aconitum too. ๐Ÿ˜€

      Like

  2. July 27, 2015 7:18 pm

    I think you’ll do well with Aconitum. It’s one of the best reads I’ve had the pleasure of going through on JP. And I’m quite certain Conviction is one of the best entries for SWP as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • July 28, 2015 5:52 pm

      Oh, thank you so much! It really means a lot to hear that. ๐Ÿ˜€ There are some really good SWP entries (yours included – I’m enjoying it a lot), but regardless of the contest’s outcome, we’ll all have (almost) finished novellas when it’s over.

      Like

  3. July 28, 2015 4:41 pm

    Whaaat? There are only 13 chapters? That makes me so sad! Anyway, congrats on the numbers for Acontinum! I’m so glad that Hector did so well! If you need a beta reader for the final round of editing let me know ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

    • July 28, 2015 5:58 pm

      Yep. It’s a novella, remember? ๐Ÿ™‚ But don’t worry, I have other stories planned or in progress set in the same world and with some of the same characters. Thanks a lot, and for the offer as well! I just may take you up on it, at least for the chapter(s) that I plan on adding. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  4. August 1, 2015 5:07 pm

    So cool! What is this Juke Pop magic you speak of?

    Liked by 1 person

    • August 1, 2015 5:25 pm

      Thank you! http://www.jukepop.com is a site where writers can submit the first chapter of a story and serialise the whole thing (upload chapters one at the time) if the editor accepts it. It’s been very rewarding for me in terms of reaching a lot of potential readers, getting useful feedback and finding a lot of amazing serial novels to follow. Right now JukePop is working with the publisher Black Hill Press on something called Summer Writing Project where three novellas will be selected for traditional publication. They also have a crowd-funding program for self-publishers and other neat stuff. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  5. May 9, 2017 6:35 am

    Thanks for that! It’s just the answer I needde.

    Like

Leave a Reply

