Skip to content

The 7/7/7 Challenge

September 3, 2015

I was tagged by A.J. Lundetræ in this cool, little challenge. The concept is simple:

The 777 challenge requires you go to Page 7 of your work-in-progress, scroll down to Line 7 and share the next 7 sentences in a blog post. Once you have done this, you can tag 7 other bloggers to do the same with their work-in-progress.

I had a few WiPs to choose from, but I picked the rural fantasy novel I started this spring (it’s been on the backburner due to the SWP, but I hope to get back to it soon).
The excerpt takes place just after the siblings Sarah and David have arrived in their uncle’s mansion in the Devon countryside. – So, here are my 7 sentences:

His name was written in black ink and swirling letters on the cover. A book about him – or for him? He opened it and found all the pages blank.
Just then, uncle Mortimer’s voice rang out. “Archibald!”
David jumped to his feet. Now who was Archibald?

That’s it! Any guesses as to who Archibald is? Or why David finds a book with his name on it?

I’m choosing not to tag anyone specifically, but I invite you all to play! If you do pick up the gauntlet, please leave a link to your post in the comment section. I would love to see your exceprt!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2015 3:42 pm

    Great excerpt! I’m really curious about your book, your sentences really make my imagination run wild.
    Archibald, perhaps he is the butler? 😀 Or an animal. 😀
    Perhaps it is a magical book – with a secret message of some kind? Perhaps secret truths about David? Or about his great grandfather with the same name?
    So cool that you took the challenge! Have a great day!
    Best, Agnete

    Liked by 1 person

    • September 3, 2015 4:14 pm

      Thank you for tagging me in it! 🙂 And for the kind words as well. I’m glad it sparked your imagination. It’s fun to hear your guesses. And you are right about at least one of them! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • September 3, 2015 4:19 pm

        Let me know when the story is out. Now I HAVE to know the story behind the book, Archibald and David. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

        • September 3, 2015 6:43 pm

          Oh, thank you! It will probably be a while because I’m editing another book at the moment, but once that is done, I think I’ll go back to this one. 🙂

          Like

  2. September 3, 2015 4:30 pm

    Lovely! It’s amazing how just a few lines can hook me in. When can we read more?

    Liked by 1 person

    • September 3, 2015 6:45 pm

      Thanks very much! I’m happy that it worked! I’ve dedicated this month primarily to the final revision of another novel, but after that I hope to return to this one. I may serialise it, in which case it’ll be available online. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

