Skip to content

Ready for a new serial? Focal Point is here!

January 27, 2016

If you’re a regular here, you’ll know that I’ve muttered something about launching a new serial novel on JukePop for a few months. Guess what! It’s finally here!

My new serial is called Focal Point. I actually wrote the first draft years ago and have been wanting to do something more with it. It’s a bit different from anything else you might have read by me so far, and I’m pretty excited about publishing it. The first chapter is online now I’ll be updating biweekly (at least to begin with) on Thursdays – starting tomorrow.

Here’s the blurb:focalpointcoverforjp

Sean considers himself a pretty normal guy. His biggest problems include making ends meet as a freelance photographer, his mother’s obsession over a picture he once took of a puppy, choosing the best wine for a double date, and his perfect boyfriend’s brain surgeon uncle who hates Sean for no apparent reason.

Well, that is until Sean’s whole world starts cracking at the seams. Only, no one else seems to be noticing, and Sean is known to have an overly active imagination. But what’s lurking in the darkness underneath the fabric of reality?

Literary fiction with a supernatural twist.

 

I hope you’ll check it out. And please, do let me know what you think! Tell your friends if you like it. Tell your enemies if you don’t. Ahem … Well, seriously, a serial really does depend on support from its readers.

And on the subject of my jumping from magical fantasyland to contemporary Copenhagen, here’s a question for readers and writers alike: Do you usually stick to certain genres, or do you read/write across them? Are there some genres that you absolutely would not dream of touching, or does it depend on the execution rather than the genre?

 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. christicorbett permalink
    January 27, 2016 4:47 pm

    I write historicals, but I read almost anything 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • February 4, 2016 1:17 pm

      Thanks for the reply! I think it’s very normal to read widely and focus writing a little more narrowly. 🙂

      Like

  2. Andre Clemons permalink
    January 27, 2016 6:26 pm

    As a writer (as well as a reader), I write across all types of genres, including urban fiction, drama, romance, historical, sci-fi, and fantasy. However, as far as genres I wouldn’t touch, I’m not really big on Webster’s. But, overall, I try to read as much as I can and write in as many different literary tastes as I can.

    Liked by 1 person

    • February 4, 2016 1:18 pm

      I love this diversity! Sometimes the stories/characters dictate the genre, don’t they? 🙂

      Like

  3. Maggie permalink
    January 27, 2016 11:57 pm

    I pretty much read anything. Except Westerns. For some reason, I never got into that. As for writing, I tend to stick with realistic fiction, romance, and fantasy/supernatural.

    Liked by 1 person

    • February 4, 2016 1:20 pm

      Admittedly, I haven’t read very many westerns, but I know the feeling of not getting into certain genres. That’s quite some writing diversity, too, on your part. 🙂

      Like

  4. February 15, 2016 12:42 pm

    I just wanted to say that’s a great blurb! Full of interesting ideas and unique images. Very impressive!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

