Skip to content

In the zone and a blogiversary

November 11, 2011

Last year, in the middle of NaNoWriMo, I thought, “Hey, I’ll make a blog. That’s a good idea. I’ll write about NaNoWriMo, about writing, maybe a bit about reading, and if I begin submitting stories to various places, I can write about that too. ” Today, on the peculiar date 11.11.11, that is exactly one year ago.

I’m doing my third NaNoWriMo this month. And so far I’m pleased with how it’s going. Wordcount-wise, I expect to reach 25K tonight. But more importantly to me, I am on a creative high. At this point, I am not writing to hit or surpass the 50K. I am writing because I can’t wait to see what happens next.
I’m writing in a way that I haven’t for years and it feels good. Really good. I’ve been sticking very much to one point of view (or narrator) for each long story for a while, I haven’t written anything science fiction/postapocalyptic/otherworldly, and I haven’t been as unplanned as I am now, either. I don’t expect to produce the One First Draft to Rule Them All here, but that’s fine with me. I’m having a great time.
Part of it I owe to my little band of protagonists. Remember how I was going to import two guys from earlier stories? I did that. And they have chemistry. They have two other people with them on the journey, and this concerned me a bit at first because I wasn’t certain that I would be able to really get into these other two. It turned out not to be a problem after all. In fact, they have become an essential part of the whole thing, and I absolutely adore having them and their points of view around.

I haven’t been very regular in my blogging, but I am more or less doing what I set out to do. I find that I enjoy blogging and am thrilled and excited to hear from people who visit my little space. – And I have gotten to know a lot of interesting blogs and had the opportunity to talk to a number of really nice and talented people over the last year!

If you’re doing NaNoWriMo, I hope you’re doing well! And regardless of whether or not you are; thank you for visiting my blog and reading this! I would offer you bisquits and tea, but unfortunately it will have to be of the imaginary kind.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2011 7:47 pm

    Happy Anniversary 🙂
    Well done on the NanoWrimo. I decided to join this year, for the first time since 2009 but I am not being very disciplined, and I’ve not written at all in one week, it’s okay, I’m planning a writing marathon this weekend. Thought it may help me resolve the over-thinking I have been doing about my novel re-write, but I suppose I better get on with it and STOP thinking and write instead.

    Sounds good about your Nano WIP – Hope it all works out and you end up with something you can polish at another date.

    Like

    • November 13, 2011 12:53 pm

      Thank you, Alannah! 😀
      Overthinking can be a creativity killer. Some thinking is necessary, but it’s hard to know when to stop sometimes. I’m rooting for you and your boy! 🙂

      Like

  2. November 11, 2011 8:02 pm

    Happy blogiversary! 🙂

    Glad to read you are in the zone, on a NaNo rocket, and happy with your writing. Can’t beat that combination. And thank you for the imaginary refreshments. They were imaginarily delicious. 😉

    Like

  3. Catana permalink
    November 11, 2011 8:03 pm

    Good going–on the blog and the novel. NaNo is really a blast when the story’s pulling you along with it. That’s happening for me too, this year. Love my story, love my characters. Thanks for the tea offer. Think I’ll go make a cup right now.

    Like

    • November 13, 2011 12:56 pm

      Thank you very much! 🙂
      I’m glad to hear that’s going well for you too. Your wordcount is amazing! (Yep, I’ve been following your progress.)

      Like

  4. November 11, 2011 11:20 pm

    Grats! Nice job on your NaNo, so far 🙂

    Like

  5. Maggie permalink
    November 12, 2011 12:57 am

    Happy blogiversary! I’m glad your NaNo is going so well for you! 🙂

    Like

  6. November 12, 2011 5:51 pm

    Your spam filter ate my comment again . .

    Happy Blogiversary!

    Like

  7. November 12, 2011 6:37 pm

    Congrats on a year!

    Yay! That writing zone is such a wonderful place to be. May you stay there all November!

    Like

    • November 13, 2011 1:06 pm

      Thank you!
      Oh yes, it’s a great place. I wish you lots of it as well. 🙂

      Like

  8. November 28, 2011 9:04 am

    Happy one year. That’s the key, isn’t it, having fun when writing. Enjoy the journey your characters take you on.

    Like

    • December 2, 2011 11:45 am

      Thank you very much! 🙂
      Yes, I think it is. And I certainly am enjoying it. We didn’t get exactly where I thought we would, but I like it here. 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment