Skip to content

What’s Next?

December 3, 2015

Hey there. Would you like to help me decide what to work on next?

shortstoryOver the past months, I’ve worked on a few short stories. One of them is related to Conviction and you can get it for free if you sign up for my super sporadic newsletter. I only use it for important announcements such as book or serial launches.

I intend to start polishing Aconitum and Conviction for potential publication elsewhere soon, but I do miss serialising.

I have one story that I really want to share because it’s already written (and I prefer to have at least a complete first draft before before I begin posting) and I would love to see what my readers make of that kind of story – and what better way to test the reactions to something new than a platform like JukePop? But more about that later.

Anyway, although I have decided on my next serial, I have lots of ideas bouncing around in my head. I really want to write (or continue writing in most cases) all of them, but I don’t know where to start.

Want to give me a hand? I’ll sum up the projects I’m working on, and then you can toss me a vote if you like. – Oh, almost all titles are working titles, by the way.

The Keeper’s Story
A fantasy novel about Cornelius Rowenheall, his apprentice and a national demon-related crisis.

Iliya’s Fate
The sequel to Conviction about prison life and what happened next to Iliya Radov.

Other Conviction-related stories
Not actual sequels, but stories set in the world of Conviction.

Aconitum II
A sequel to, you guessed it, Aconitum. About Hector and Royer.

Other Aconitum-related stories
Not actual sequels, but stories set in the world of Aconitum.

The Secret of Stillwater
A MG/YA rural fantasy story about two kids visiting their uncle’s mansion in the English village Stillwater and the strangeness that surrounds the place.

Moonless
A post-apocalyptic sci fi about a boy, a robot and an Earth that is radically different from last time you looked out of your window.

Sparks
Urban fantasy comedy about runes, blood magic and a guy who talks before he thinks and gets himself involved with a super secret organisation.

Other
It could be something about vampires, demons, a nuclear disaster that causes strange mutations or something entirely else. Yes, I have ideas for those.

You can pick as many or few as you like (please feel free to comment too). I’m just curious, and your opinion may help me decide which story to start working on next.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. kathjoy permalink
    December 3, 2015 5:29 pm

    It was a hard vote! I’d love to hear about The Keeper but then I want to know what happens to Iliya and the other stories sound great too! Then again I’d love to see more stories in the world of Conviction or Aconitum! I guess it’d be a bit much to say ‘write them all!’ lol

    Liked by 2 people

    • December 7, 2015 4:38 pm

      I’m kind of glad that it was hard to decide since it means you’d like to read several of them. 🙂 Thanks a lot for voting and commenting! I do intend to write if not all of them, then at least the majority. It’s just a matter of time and opportunity. I’ve got parts of Iliya’s continued story written, parts of the Keeper’s and others set in the same world, so I know I’m definitely not done with it, but the same can be said for others too.

      Liked by 1 person

      • kathjoy permalink
        December 7, 2015 9:10 pm

        I think I’d be intrigued to see you write a sci-fi. Your writing (that I’ve seen so far) has this perfect depth, pitch and pace that is so rich in detail without droning on that would suit the sort of sci-fi story Moonless sounds like.

        Good luck with which ever you choose. I am eager to read any that you decide on!

        Liked by 1 person

        • December 8, 2015 12:11 pm

          Thank you for the kind words! 😀 Fun fact: I used to write sci fi when I was a teenager, but stopped almost completely for about a decade. I’m kind of curious to see where it’ll take me, too.

          Liked by 1 person

          • kathjoy permalink
            December 8, 2015 1:24 pm

            The same is true for me but with fantasy! That’s why I chose a fantasy project for my next JP project. Best of luck which ever you pick.

            Liked by 1 person

  2. J.A. Waters permalink
    December 6, 2015 2:13 pm

    The Secret of Stillwater just sounds fun, but all of these sound interesting and I’d look forward to reading them. Moonless is probably my second vote though… <_< Sci-Fi, ya know?

    Liked by 2 people

    • December 7, 2015 4:40 pm

      Thanks a lot! 🙂 I’m glad you’d want to read all of them. I’ve been drafting parts of Moonless, but it’s the newest idea and needs lots of work. As for Stillwater, well I think I’m halfway through the first draft (give or take), so it’s definitely one that I want to get on with as well. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      • J.A. Waters permalink
        December 8, 2015 12:14 am

        Awesome! Anything you write is bound to be good, so I’m definitely looking forward to whatever you go with. It just sweetens the deal that it might be the two I lean toward…

        Liked by 2 people

        • December 8, 2015 12:12 pm

          Aw, thank you so much! I’m probably going to write most of them at some point. But first that mysterious other story that I keep hinting at. 😉

          Liked by 1 person

  3. December 10, 2015 7:41 pm

    Love your ideas! In time, you could write all of them, smiling. Joined your newsletter and look forward to read the shortstory. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • December 11, 2015 3:46 pm

      Thank you very much! Yes, I do plan on it. Some of the ideas have been with me for years and are half-written, others are brand new. And thanks again! I hope you’ll enjoy it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Holidays! | Muse X-ing

Leave a Reply

